endometrial polyp

A place to share your life-changing experiences!

Moderators: Movlin, LadyB, Lady Alinor, Tamara

endometrial polyp

Postby bigbaby » Mon Aug 07, 2006 7:57 am

Hi, it's my first time posting here. I have a pelvic/vaginal ultrasound scheduled for later this morning. I'm 56 and I had post menopausal bleeding and an endometrial polyp removed. I'm posting here because I'm scared as can be! My doctor's words... "Once we get the results of your u/s then we'll discuss future evalutation of your bleeding." He's determined to dig! Your way seems so much easier. Aside from this, I started having pains from my rib cage down to my vagina since the polyp removal, all on the right side. I feel that I need to do these evaluations to rule out cancer. Any help, suggestions, or support will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
bigbaby

Postby ShirleyD » Wed Aug 09, 2006 5:23 am

As an endometrial cancer survivor I fully understand all your fears!! But, if there is a suspicion of endometrial/uterine cancer, please have the necessary testing done to rule in or out this disease. Endometrial cancer is the most common gynecological cancer and has a very high cure rate when caught in it's earliest stages. Fortunately my cancer was very early and I only required surgical intervention for treatment. If I can possibly answer any further questions you have about testing, etc. please don't hesitate to ask.
ShirleyD

Postby bigbaby » Wed Aug 09, 2006 12:10 pm

Thank you Shirley. My u/s came back showing everything is normal so I'm hoping this is the end of the 'big dig'. Everything was nicely shriveled and small the way it all should be after menopause. My bleeding episode was most likely from the presence of the polyp. I'm feeling very grateful right now.
bigbaby

Postby ShirleyD » Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:19 am

I am so happy to hear your good news :) Wish you continued good health!!!!
ShirleyD

Postby Tamara » Sat Aug 12, 2006 5:58 am