Herb-Drug Interactions

Discuss all aspects of herbal medicine and weed wisdom with other wise women and green witches...share harvesting tips, remedies, and personal experiences. Green Blessings to all!!! Drink Nourishing Herbal Infusion http://www.susunweed.com/How_to_make_Infusions.htm

Moderators: Allie, Lady Alinor, Tamara, Phoebetales, Joanne, Community Herbalist

Herb-Drug Interactions

Postby karen joy » Thu Aug 03, 2006 2:05 pm

This is a subject often questioned. We want to know if an herb is contraindicated with a particular drug. This is an important topic in my opinion, so I would like to start a thread here. I am only beginning my deeper search on this so can post websites as I find them that pique my curiosity. I would also love to know what other resources you have - websites, books, periodicals....

Many of us ask "what herb can we use when dealing with...?" And some pop in with one sentence or several word answers "Take this....!" It is up to us taking our care into our own hands to know the details and this is one. Only occasionally do I hear, "what drugs are you taking?" As one who like to say "Try this...!" I want to know even better possible concerns especially the more blatant ones. The most common I hear of is with Hypericum, but even want to know this more thoroughly. Plus I imagine the "facts" change and it would be nice to have a central source to keep up.

Looking at some of the websites, they say very general info like "may increase effects of anti coagulation drugs, and cause excessive bleeding" I would like to know more detail about the effects... plus this always gets my curiosity.... If the drug thins the blood and the herb thins the blood, is it automatic that it is the herb I should discontinue?